RELEASE DAY REVIEW: Tidesong by Wendy Xu

Tidesong by Wendy Xu

Release Date: November 16, 2021

Page Count: 240 pages

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Synopsis 

Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and The Tea Dragon Society, this is a magically heartwarming graphic novel about self-acceptance and friendship. An Indie Next List Pick!

Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandmother pressure her to attend the Royal Magic Academy–the best magic school in the realm–even though her magic is shaky at best. To train for her entrance exams, Sophie is sent to relatives she’s never met.

Cousin Sage and Great-Aunt Lan seem more interested in giving Sophie chores than in teaching her magic. Frustrated, Sophie attempts magic on her own, but the spell goes wrong, and she accidentally entangles her magic with the magic of a young water dragon named Lir.

Lir is trapped on land and can’t remember where he came from. Even so, he’s everything Sophie isn’t–beloved by Sophie’s family and skilled at magic. With his help, Sophie might just ace her entrance exams, but that means standing in the way of Lir’s attempts to regain his memories. Sophie knows what she’s doing is wrong, but without Lir’s help, can she prove herself?

Review 

This was so adorable!!! I love reading about different mythology  and this had Chinese sea dragons, which is fascinating. I’m also a fan of the author since Mooncakes, so I requested Tidesong on a whim.

Sophie was a wonderful main character. I really loved her friendship Lir, the young water dragon with amnesia. It was really interesting to see the lore and I adored the entire setting.

It’s also shows how adults can also be wrong and how everyone should apologise, no matter age or status, which is great in a middle grade novel.

The art is absolutely gorgeous and the colours are amazing! If you love witches and sea dragons in a whimsy magical setting, definitely pick up Tidesong!

*ARC provided by the publisher  via Netgalley in exchange for an honest and unbiased review

Buy It: Amazon USAmazon UK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s